česky english deutsch >>>

Tachov

Tachov

Tachov belongs to the oldest communes of western Bohemia. The first notice originates from year 1115. In the year 1126 the prince Soběslav got rebuilt some important boarder fortresses, including Tachov. The town experienced development under rule of Přemysl Otakar II., who had in Tachov built a new tower and most likely around year 1275 founded a new royal town. Tachov went down in history markedly during Hussite wars, when in these places encountered Hussites and their rivals several times.

The most known is battle from year 1427. In 1616 the town was affected by a destructive fire. That was the onset of its decline. Tachov participated in the rebellion against Habsburgs, and from that reason it became an allegiance town and lost its estates and part of its rights. During the Thirty Years War it was burnt out by Swedes. The city begun to prosper as late as under the Windischgrätz family, which gained it in year 1784.

After 1938 it belonged to the Greater German Reich. After the war German citizens were displaced and the town had to be replenished from inland. Jewish community is in Tachov documented since the half of 15th century. Synagogue is for the first time mentioned in year 1611, when it burnt out. In the history yet several fires affected it, but it was always renewed; for the last time Germans inflamed it during the World War II. Fascinating city walls and towers have been preserved in Tachov. An example of successful reconstruction is the baroque, so-called Zámecký (Castle's) or also Husmann's mill. The Husmann's mill, house Nr. 308, is located just in middle of the town in the Prokopa Velikého street, in space of the city monument zone. The baroque mill was founded by a citizen of Tachov, Jan Filip Husmann of Naméda. In forefront of the building, equipped by high Renaissance gables, the Husmann's emblem is inserted, accompanied by the year 1645. Reconstructed object is completed by a mill-wheel and used by city's cultural center. The oldest Jewish cemetery, which existed between city walls and the Vodní street, disappeared scentless. The second one, today called Old cemetery, had been founded prior to yr. 1615 and its relicts are preserved near today's Chodská street not far from its leading in the street Plzeňská at eastern rim of the city monument zone. It was demolished not only during Nazi occupation, but also later. It suffered the greatest blow during widening of the Chodská street and construction of offices of Pozemní stavby in yr. 1977, when valuable gravestones of rabbis disappeared, including that of Nachum Sofer, sought-after by pilgrims. In yr. 1988 complete liquidation of the cemetery began. It was stopped in yr. 1991 and the cemetery lived to experience at least a partial reconstruction. Today there are 190 gravestones here, the oldest one being from yr. 1700.

GPS position

N 49° 48.232', E 12° 37.867'
[GPX]

[MAPY.CZ]