česky english deutsch <<< >>>

Naučná stezka Třeboň

Church and Monastery

The Church of St. Giles dominates the buildings of the former Augustinian monastery, founded in 1367 and given by the Rozmberks to the canons of St. Augustine. The Monastery features notably in the history of the city and ranked among the leading centers of scholarship and artistic production in the South Bohemia. The Rozmberk family was unusually generous, but through it also increased their canonical property and forged clever economic policy and partnerships.

Of the original monastery appearance from the 14th century cloister remains only the Chapel of John the Baptist, although its floor has been amended several times throughout the centuries. Other buildings in the courtyard are mostly from a much later date, mainly from the times of prosperity in the 18th century. The fountain in the middle of the courtyard is from the late 17th century. In 1785, the monastery was closed.

klaster 01

Today, visitors can only enter into the church. Since the last century, the church name was extended into the Church of Our Lady and St. Giles. Its special notable feature is the double body, which was a first in the Czech lands. The Gothic Vault is supported by four slender pillars standing along the longitudinal axis of the church. At the end of the 14th century, the church was decorated with altar paintings by Trebon’s master painter Trebon and by a sculpture of the Madonna and child from argillite rock. The statue is still in the church today and according to experts it is one of the most beautiful examples of Czech sculpture.

GPS position

N 49° 0.283', E 14° 46.179'



Společnost Rožmberk o.p.s.
Olga Černá